Nominees for the 17th Costume Designers Guild Awards, which celebrates excellence in film, television and commercial costume design, have officially been announce.  One of the most prestigious industry award events acknowledges the creative forces that make the stories true to life will honor host the awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Tuesday, February 17th.

Producer, director and screenwriter Richard Linklater will receive the Distinguished Collaborator Award in recognition of his support of Costume Design and creative partnerships with Costume Designers.  An Honorary Career Achievement Award will be presented to Costume Designer Aggie Guerard Rodgers for her outstanding work in film.  The 2015 Edith Head Award for the Advancement of the Art of Costume Design will be presented to costume designer, scholar, and two-term Costume Designers Guild past president, Dr. Deborah Nadoolman Landis. The LACOSTE Spotlight Award honoree will be announced in the upcoming weeks. LACOSTE is also returning as Presenting Sponsor of the CDGA having been featured in a number of screen favorites including Bridesmaids, Glee, The Heat and many more.

“The Costume Designers Guild Awards places a spotlight on the amazing and unique talent of Costume Designers. The Costume Designers Guild would like to congratulate all of the nominees and we look forward to celebrating the work of our members at our awards gala on February 17th,” said Salvador Perez, President of the Costume Designers Guild Local

We’ve seen a number of these projects and forever commend the hard work and dedication these men and women put into ensuring that all pieces are perfect. From extensive research on what African-American’s were able to afford during the time of Selma to making McKinnon look as close to Justin Bieber without disguising her identity on Saturday Night Live; it’s an detail-oriented craft that deserves high accolades.

List of nominees announced  by the Costume Designers Guild:

Excellence in Contemporary Film
Birdman – Albert Wolsky
Boyhood – Kari Perkins
Gone Girl – Trish Summerville
Interstellar – Mary Zophres
Wild – Melissa Bruning

Excellence in Period Film
The Grand Budapest Hotel – Milena Canonero
The Imitation Game – Sammy Sheldon Differ
Inherent Vice – Mark Bridges
Selma – Ruth E. Carter
The Theory of Everything – Steven Noble

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Guardians of the Galaxy – Alexandra Byrne
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies – Bob Buck, Ann Maskrey, Richard Taylor
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1 – Kurt and Bart
Into the Woods – Colleen Atwood
Maleficent – Anna B. Sheppard, Jane Clive

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
House of Cards – Johanna Argan
Ray Donovan – Christopher Lawrence
Saturday Night Live – Tom Broecker, Eric Justian
Scandal – Lyn Paolo
True Detective – Jenny Eagan

Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series
Boardwalk Empire – John Dunn
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton
The Knick – Ellen Mirojnick
Mad Men – Janie Bryant
Masters of Sex – Ane Crabtree

Outstanding Made for Television Movie or Mini Series
American Horror Story: Freak Show – Lou Eyrich
Houdini – Birgit Hutter
The Normal Heart – Daniel Orlandi
Olive Kitteridge – Jenny Eagan
Sherlock – Sarah Arthur

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design
Army ‘Defy Expectations, Villagers’ – Christopher Lawrence
Direct TV ‘Less Attractive’, with Rob Lowe – Mindy Le Brock, Jessica Albertson
Dos Equis ‘Most Interesting Man in the World Walks on Fire’ – Julie Vogel
Kia Soul Hamster Commercial Featuring ‘Animals’ – Anette Cseri
Smirnoff ‘The Mixologist’ – Laura Jean Shannon